Blending a socially conscious spirit with hard bop, jazz-funk, and electronic elements, Power to the People finds Joe Henderson entering a new creative dimension, as he performs such originals as “Isotope,” “Afro-Centric” and the first recording of his classic “Black Narcissus,” alongside a titanic rhythm section featuring legends like Herbie Hancock (piano, Fender Rhodes), Ron Carter (electric and acoustic bass), Jack DeJohnette (drums), and Mike Lawrence (trumpet).

Nearly 55 years after its release, Power to the People still sounds as fresh as ever and remains a testament to Henderson’s talents as a composer, bandleader, and saxophonist. In the decades since its release, the album has only continued to grow in stature. In retrospective reviews, PopMatters declared Power to the People to be “A strong reminder of a player who never faltered,” while AllMusic noted that the album “has quite a few classic moments.” All About Jazz praised, “Henderson, clearly inspired by the potent playing of his bandmates, is in top form, spinning out long every-note-counts lines, varying his phrases from compact melodic cells to broad sweeping gestures that range up and down the horn; his tone, sometimes mellow and smoky, other times hoarse and gruff, perfectly complements his imaginative improvisations.

Joe Henderson – Power to the People

Release Date:
March 15, 2024

Side A

Black Narcissus
Opus One-Point-Five

Side B

Power To The People
Lazy Afternoon
Foresight And Afterthought (An Impromptu Suite In Three Movements)


Bass – Ron Carter (tracks: A1, A3, A4, B2, B3)
Composed By – Moross* (tracks: B2), Joe Henderson (tracks: A1, A2, A4, B1, B3), Latouche* (tracks: B2), Ron Carter (tracks: A3)
Design [Album] – John Murello
Drums – Jack De Johnette*
Electric Bass – Ron Carter (tracks: A2, B1)
Electric Piano – Herbie Hancock (tracks: A1, A2, B1)
Engineer [Recording] – George Sawtelle
Lacquer Cut By – Kevin Gray
Liner Notes – Alan Heineman
Mastered By [Original LP] – Ray Hagerty
Photography By – Charles Stewart*
Piano – Herbie Hancock (tracks: A3, A4, B2)
Producer – Orrin Keepnews
Tenor Saxophone – Joe Henderson
Trumpet – Mike Lawrence (tracks: A2, B1)