Sorcery finds Jack DeJohnette teamed up with a tight crew of badass bandmates, including veterans of Miles Davis’s Bitches Brew sessions (bassist Dave Holland) and Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters band (Bennie Maupin). Discursive, meditative, trippy but grounded in tasty grooves (the deep digger drum break “Epilog”) and laced with flurries of Hendrix-on-jazz-steroids guitar from 6-string heroes John Abercrombie and Mick Goodrick plus the ahead-of-its-time electronic processing of DeJohnette, this band would never be mistakenly filed under Smooth Jazz. 

Jack DeJohnette – Sorcery

Release Date:
November 10, 2020

Side A

Sorcery #1
The Right Time
The Rock Thing

Side B

The Reverend King Suite
Four Levels Of Joy


Bass – Dave Holland
Bass Clarinet – Bennie Maupin (tracks: Side A)
Drums, Keyboards – Jack DeJohnette
Executive-Producer – Orrin Keepnews
Guitar – John Abercrombie (tracks: Side A), Mick Goodrick (tracks: Side A)
Mastered By – David Turner (2)
Producer – Jack DeJohnette
Trombone, Idiophone [Metaphone 1] – Michael Fellerman