Originally issued in 1975, this spiritual free-jazz album remains one of the highlights of the illustrious career of Azar Lawrence, who is one of the only artists from the legendary Prestige Records era who is still touring and putting out new music.

Recorded during a prime period of exploration and adventure for modern American jazz music, Summer Solstice finds Lawrence leading a team of international virtuosos consisting of Amaury Tristão on guitar, Dom Salvador and Albert Daily on piano, Ron Carter on bass, Billy Hart on drums, Guilherme Franco on percussion, Gerald Hayes on flute, and the one and only Raul de Souza, who is known for his work with artists like Sérgio Mendes and Sonny Rollins, on trombone. In the producer’s chair is Orrin Keepnews, famous for his golden ears that led him to discover artists such as Bill Evans, Cannonball Adderley and Jimmy Heath. The result is an album that operates in the sonic space halfway between the influence of the American jazz standards of the 50s and 60s and the free spirit of the Brazilian jazz made popular by artists like Hermeto Pascoal and Egberto Gismonti. Lawrence’s bold and fearless exploration of new sounds influenced many generations to come, and can be heard in the playing of his younger colleagues, like the great Kamasi Washington who cites him as a big influence.

Azar Lawrence – Summer Solstice

Release Date:
November 15, 2019

Side A
From The Point Of Love
Novo Ano
From The Point Of Light

Side B
Summer Solstice


Acoustic Guitar – Amaury Tristao
Bass – Ron Carter
Composed By, Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Percussion – Azar Lawrence
Flute – Gerald Hayes
Illustration – Vincent Hollier
Lacquer Cut By – Kevin Gray
Photography – Charles Stewart
Piano – Dom Salvador
Producer – Orrin Keepnews
Recorded By – Tony May
Remix, Recorded By – Eddie Bill Harris
Trombone – Raul De Souza